Discover interior ideas » General » Interior Innovation Award 2011 –…

Interior Innovation Award 2011 – award-winning products are being exhibited at imm cologne

As part of the opening ceremony for imm cologne, the Best of Best in this year’s Interior Innovation Award were announced on 17 January 2011. In addition, the three best international up-and-coming designers were presented with the Interior Innovation Award. All award-winning products are being exhibited in special shows at imm cologne.

The large Boulevard of Innovations award exhibition along the northern boulevard presents the products that the jury awarded the “Winner 2011” label as well as those from this preliminary selection proclaimed the 15 Best of Best 2011. The award-winning work of the three best newcomers together with around 30 prototypes from international up-and-coming designers can be seen in the [D3] Contest exhibition in Hall 3.2.

Since 2011, participation in the Interior Innovation Award competition is no longer limited to imm cologne exhibitors. All companies in the interior design industry with products from the segments of furniture, bathroom, office/workspace, building equipment, wall/floor/ceiling, kitchen/household, lighting and textiles were eligible to apply for the 2011 Interior Innovation Award.

For the first time, a yearbook will be published about the competition displaying all award-winning products as well as further highlights from imm cologne 2011.

The jury 2011
Tomoko Azumi, designer, London
Barbara Friedrich, editor-in-chief A&W Architektur und Wohnen, Hamburg
Sam Hecht, designer, London
Andrej Kupetz, managing director of the “Rat für Formgebung”/German Design Council, Frankfurt am Main
Giulio Ridolfo, designer, Udine
Gerhard Wolf, Funktion Möbel, Darmstadt

Interior Innovation Award 2011
Since 2002, the goal of the Interior Innovation Award has been to recognise innovative products with outstanding design from all segments of the interior design industry. Initiated by imm cologne and the “Rat für Formgebung”/German Design Council, the competition has developed into an effective instrument for corporate positioning and product differentiation for participants and winners from the very beginning.

[D3] Contest
The international [D3] Contest for young designers has become a fixture for trade visitors and exhibitors at imm cologne. The [D3] Contest provides young designers with an outstanding forum to present their interior design ideas to an international audience.

On behalf of Koelnmesse, the “Rat für Formgebung”/German Design Council is presiding over and organising the exhibition and award for young designers for the eighth time in a row this year at imm cologne 2011. Up to 30 current works by design students and young designers from around the world are being exhibited. From this selection, the jury of the Interior Innovation Award 2011 competition, taking place at imm cologne, selects the three best international up-and-coming designers for 2011.

Interior Innovation Award 2011 – Best of Best

Product Flow Armchair (seat)
Manufacturer MDF Italia
Designer Jean-Marie Massaud

Product Rocker (rocking horse)
Manufacturer Richard Lampert GmbH
Designer Doshie Levien

Product Wogg 50 (chair)
Manufacturer Wogg AG
Designer Jörg Boner

Product Konnex (shelf)
Manufacturer Müller Möbelwerkstätten GmbH
Designer Florian Gross, Florian Gross Design

Product Conoflat (shower basin)
Manufacturer Franz Kaldewei GmbH & Co. KG
Designer Christopher Redfern, Sottsass Associati

Product TA 18 Zehn (table)
Manufacturer e15 Design und Distributions GmbH
Designer Philipp Mainzer

Product i-Cooking (cooking hob)
Manufacturer ABK InnoVent BV
Designer ABK InnoVent BV

Product SKE 63 M 05 EU Compact Built-in Dishwasher
Manufacturer Robert-Bosch Hausgeräte GmbH
Designer Inhouse Design

Product Material Structures – Salut / Ori / Bristol (decorative fabrics)
Manufacturer Kinnasand GmbH
Designer Lisa Perlitz, Kinnasand GmbH

Product Falling Star Floor (lamp)
Manufacturer Tobias Grau GmbH
Designer Tobias Grau

Product Pure Rost (wall covering)
Manufacturer Architects Paper
Designer Susan Krieger, Lydia in St. Petersburg GmbH

Product Cluster+ (lamp)
Manufacturer benwirth licht
Designer Ben Wirth and Killian Hüttenhofer

Product Trio (side table)
Manufacturer pulp0
Designer Julian Appelius

Product Lou (armchair)
Manufacturer Roset Möbel GmbH
Designer Patrick Jouin

Product Munich Lounge Chair
Manufacturer Classicon
Designer Sauerbruch Hutton, Matthias Sauerbruch and Louisa Hutton
[D3] Talents Contest

The jury presented two first prizes of 2,500 euros and one second prize of 1,000 euros.

1st place
Product OLA (table)
Designer AKKA, Oscar Terbom and Petter Danielson

1st place
Product Pressed Chair
Designer Harry Thaler

2nd place
Product Moody (sofa)
Designer Hanna Emelie Ernsting